Nickname: Indomitable Lions

Head Coach: Clarence Seedorf (Netherlands)

Previous appearances: 18

Honours: Winners (1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017)

Club History

Cameroon shocked the entire continent to win their fifth title at the last edition in Gabon in 2017. Stripped of the hosting rights due to delays in meeting deadlines, the Indomitable Lions made certain of their spot after finishing second in Group B behind Morocco.

Key Facts

  • Defending champions Cameroon are looking to become the first side to retain the Africa Cup of Nations title since Egypt won three in a row in 2006, 2008 and 2010. Cameroon themselves last achieved this in 2002.
  • Only Egypt (seven) have won more Africa Cup of Nations titles than Cameroon (five), who won in 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002 and 2017.
  • Cameroon finished as runners-up in their qualification group to reach the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, finishing behind Morocco.

SABC © 2018